2007 Student Library Excellence Awards

Student Library Excellence Award Winners

Each year to encourage students’ involvement in their schools’ libraries, the Friends of the Library of Huntsville Madison County offers a school-based award to students who provide outstanding volunteer service to school libraries at the elementary, middle, and high school levels. Those selected are recognized at the school’s annual honors program with a personal certificate. Students are also recognized in the community in The Huntsville Times, this newsletter, and with a display in the youth section of the main library on Monroe Street.

The awards program, coordinated by Linda Posey, Chairman, Friends of the Library Awards Committee, has been in existence more than twenty years. FOL provides each school with a walnut plaque to be placed in its library, and each year a brass nameplate with the selected student’s name is added to the plaque. A list of this year’s winners is below.

School Nominee(s) Librarian
Bob Jones High Pavia Gooch Ann van Leeuwen
Buckhorn High School Tyler Helms Wendy Stephens
Catholic High School Molly Lampton Kathy Smith
Columbia High School Catherine Scott Nicole Fields
Grissom High School Kristina Azar Kathy Staggs & Janice Mann
Huntsville High Collin Adair Amy Cherry
Johnson High Ashley N. Graham
Travis B. Kennamore
Patricia Fuzzell
Madison Academy Cessalyn Feagan Bobby Lipscomb
Madison County High Jeremy Conley
Rainey Kreps
Hazel Richardson
Meridianville Middle Megan Riddle
Katelyn Atwell
Lauren Franklin
Missy King
Providence School Carly Zywno Michelle Barnet
Davis Hills Middle Russ Conaway Aaron Ball
Mountain Gap Middle Ashley Ladner Brenda Rutland
Riverton Middle Katelyn Black
James Wells
Kelsey Smith
Lisa Rogers
Sparkman Middle Katie Huff
Brandi Fralix
Mary Riddle
Stone Middle School April Rigsby Libby Potter
Morris Elementary Kelsey Cruse Robbie Kimbrough
Madison Cross Roads Michael Dynes Liz Glenn
Farley Elementary Ashleigh Jackson Elizabeth Holmes
Chaffee Elementary Jordan Vincent Mary L. Long
Central School Dayra Bestler
Bonnie Gaylord
Yvonne Holley
McDonnell Elementary Jonathan Van Heiden
Ruth Angel
Kimberley Jones