Login to My Account

adults

Interstellar: Film Showing and Discussion

Date: 
Saturday, April 11, 2015 - 12:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Free!   We will show the film Interstellar starring Matthew McConaughey and  Anne Hathaway, in which a crew of astronauts travels through a wormhole in search of a new home for humanity.  Immediately following the film, Dr. Gang Li from UAH’s Space Science program will host a discussion surrounding some of the themes presented in the film, such as relativity theory and black holes.  Dr. Li is a Principle Research Scientist at CSAR and currently teaches General Relativity.

Please come early, as space is limited for this event.  Read more about Interstellar: Film Showing and Discussion

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Author: Marc Lacy

Date: 
Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 2:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
Special event, do not index

 

Meet Author Marc Lacy as he talks about his new book "The Curse of the Whiskey House" as well as his other books. Huntsville's own Marc Lacy, a graduate of Alabama A&M University is a nationally renowned, award winning poet/author and lecturer. He has performed all over the country at many national literary events and spoken word venues. Marc is also a seasoned freelance writer and a blogger for The Man-Ologist Blogs. Along with writing and performance, Marc utilizes his wordsmith talent and poetic flair as he facilitates lectures, conducts workshops, and delivers motivational speeches concerning writing, communication, and self-development. Lacy credits his faith in God and love of family for providing energy he needs, to succeed.  

This is a FREE events, PLEASE pick up tickets starting February 23, 2015 from the Main Library Business Office 915 Monroe Street, Huntsville, AL 35801 during business hours Monday - Friday 9am -5pm or Showers Center Library 4600 Blue Spring Rd., Huntsville, AL 35810 Monday - Thursday 9am -6pm  Friday 9am -5pm , for more information call 256-851-7492. Read more about Author: Marc Lacy

Age: 
Location: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

How to Do Things: Shuttle Tatting

Date: 
Repeats every week every Thursday 3 times .
Thursday, March 5, 2015 - 2:00pm
Thursday, March 12, 2015 - 2:00pm
Thursday, March 19, 2015 - 2:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Three 2-hour classes with homework between classes.

Learn to make lace with a tatting shuttle.  You’ll learn the basic stitches and how to read patterns.  Class projects include trims that can be attached to a handtowel and ornaments.  After working with size 10 thread, you’ll learn to work with smaller thread.  No tatting experience is needed. 

Homework is required. 

Students must provide their own supplies:  a metal tatting shuttle (with hook on one end and bobbin) and Knit Cro-Sheen variegated size 10 thread.

Register by March 1 by emailing WeavingBasics@yahoo.com.

Max. 4 students

For details, contact Meredith Kasenow at 256-532-2362 or asprogramming@hmcpl.org

  Read more about How to Do Things: Shuttle Tatting

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Scrabble Tournament

Date: 
Saturday, March 28, 2015 - 11:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Three round Scrabble tournament, with space for up to 32 players.

Registration fee: $5

Players of all skill levels are welcome.  Knowledge of basic rules of play is necessary.

Register no later than March 21 at the Main Library, or by emailing asprogramming@hmcpl.org.

1st place wins a $50 Amazon gift card!  Prizes for 2nd and 3rd place as well.

If you have any questions, please contact Meredith Kasenow at 256-532-2362 or asprogramming@hmcpl.org Read more about Scrabble Tournament

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

American Mahjongg (Madison)

Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed Dec 23 2015 .
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, February 4, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 1, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 8, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, August 19, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, December 16, 2015 - 12:00pm
Wednesday, December 23, 2015 - 12:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
Special event, do not index
Author: 
Title: 

Come to the Madison Library to play American Mahjongg. New and experienced players are welcome! This group meets every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday from noon to 3:00 p.m.

  Read more about American Mahjongg (Madison)

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

How to Do Things: Getting Ready for Spring

Date: 
Sunday, February 22, 2015 - 2:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Free!

A representative from Huntsville Botanical Garden will be in house to help you prep for Spring gardening.  Program focuses on new plants in garden centers, soil amending, tilling, pre-emergents, lawns,
vegetable gardens, and lots of time for Q&A.  Free.

*Sunday February 22, 2-4pm, Main Library, Second Floor Events Room*

If you have questions, please contact Meredith Kasenow at 256-532-2362 or asprogramming@hmcpl.org

  Read more about How to Do Things: Getting Ready for Spring

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Gurley Girls Book Club

Date: 
Thursday, February 26, 2015 - 7:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Maria Semple
Title: 
Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Book discussion on Where'd You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. Read more about Gurley Girls Book Club

Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Gurley Friends of the Library

Date: 
Tuesday, February 24, 2015 - 7:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Friends of the Gurley Library meet to discuss ways to improve our library. Read more about Gurley Friends of the Library

Event type: 
Age: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Gurley Lady Crafters

Date: 
Monday, February 23, 2015 - 6:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Ladies from the community come together to work on their own crafts and visit. Read more about Gurley Lady Crafters

Event type: 
Age: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Gurley Lady Crafters

Date: 
Monday, February 9, 2015 - 6:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Ladies from the community come together to work on their own crafts and visit. Read more about Gurley Lady Crafters

Event type: 
Age: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages