Login to My Account

family-friendly

I Love Books Puppet Show

Date: 
Thursday, February 9, 2012 - 9:15am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Join us for a fun puppet show based on some of our favorite books, stories, and rhymes. Read more about I Love Books Puppet Show

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

I Love Books Puppet Show

Date: 
Wednesday, February 8, 2012 - 10:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Join us for a fun puppet show based on some of our favorite books, stories, and rhymes. Read more about I Love Books Puppet Show

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Martin Luther King Jr. Musical Tribute

Date: 
Sunday, January 15, 2012 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Comemmorate Martin Luther King Jr.'s birthday with a special musical tribute to the civil rights leader on January 15.

Local choirs and musicians including the Oakwood Academy Chorus, the Aspire String Quartet, and vocal soloist Sandy Kinslow, will perform Martin Luther King Jr.'s favorite spirituals. Oakwood University Provost Dr. Mervyn Warren will give a presentation about King's visit to Huntsville.

The program will begin at 3 pm on Sunday, January 15 in the atrium of the Main branch.

Please contact Luisa with any questions at lmorenilla@hmcpl.org. Read more about Martin Luther King Jr. Musical Tribute

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Family Literacy Night Luau!

Date: 
Monday, January 30, 2012 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

 

It’s the big kick off to our Book Fair!  Join the Library for a warm Hawaiian themed Family Literacy Night.  Families can enjoy milk and cookies, a “book” walk, storytime, and other fun games.   Read more about Family Literacy Night Luau!

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Scholastic Book Fair

Date: 
Monday, January 30, 2012 - 9:00am to Friday, February 3, 2012 - 5:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

 

Buy a book and help the Library at the same time?  It’s a win-win!  Scholastic will be in the Youth Services section of the Main Library during the week of Jan. 30- Feb. 3 to sell a variety of children and teens best-selling books.  For every book purchased from this book fair, the Library will get a portion of the proceeds in books for the collection!  Read more about Scholastic Book Fair

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Harry Potter Lego Night: The Battle for Hogwarts

Date: 
Monday, January 23, 2012 - 4:30pm to 5:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

 

It’s a super special  edition of our LEGO Madness program!   Santa gave a Harry Potter Hogwarts LEGO kit to the Library.   On Jan 23, you can help build Hogwarts, defend the castle from the Dementors, and help Harry Save the Day!  DUPLOS and MEGA Blocks will be available for younger builders.   Read more about Harry Potter Lego Night: The Battle for Hogwarts

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Family Chess Night

Date: 
Wednesday, January 18, 2012 - 4:30pm to 5:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Come play chess with a worthy opponent at our Family Chess Nights. Boards and equipment will be provided. All ages and playing levels welcome, but kindergartners and younger must be accompanied by an adult. Read more about Family Chess Night

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

LEGO Mania

Date: 
Repeats every week until Mon Apr 30 2012 .
Monday, January 23, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, January 30, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, February 6, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, February 13, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, February 20, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, February 27, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, March 5, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, March 12, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, March 19, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, March 26, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, April 2, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, April 9, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, April 16, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, April 23, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Monday, April 30, 2012 - 4:30pm to 6:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Each Monday, join other LEGO fans and construct projects out of your wildest dreams!  The Library will provide some LEGOs and DUPLOs, and participants are welcome to bring their own.  Each week participants will be invited to create projects on a theme and finished projects can be put on display at the Library for one week.   All ages are invited to participate!

* Help us out!  We’re currently looking for  donations of gently used LEGOs and DUPLOs to support this program * Read more about LEGO Mania

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Family Game Night

Date: 
Thursday, January 19, 2012 - 6:00pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

We'll supply the games and snacks - you supply the family! Read more about Family Game Night

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Family Craft Day

Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu May 31 2012 except Mon Apr 30 2012, Mon May 07 2012, Mon May 14 2012, Mon May 21 2012, Mon May 28 2012, Mon Jul 23 2012, Mon Jul 30 2012.
Monday, January 2, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, January 9, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, January 16, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, January 23, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, January 30, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, February 6, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, February 13, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, February 20, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, February 27, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, March 5, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, March 12, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, March 19, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, March 26, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, April 2, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, April 9, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, April 16, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Monday, April 23, 2012 - 3:00pm to 4:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Come with an adult or caregiver and together make a fabulous craft each Monday. Supplies may be limited. Read more about Family Craft Day

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages