Quarter-Life Crisis

Quarter-Life Crisis: A History of the World in 6 Glasses

Location: Café 153
Date: Monday, May 13, 2013 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

From beer to Coca-Cola, six drinks have helped shape human history. Throughout human history, certain drinks have done much more than just quench thirst. As Tom Standage relates with authority and charm, six of them have had a surprisingly pervasive influence on the course of history, becoming the defining drink during a pivotal historical period. A History of the World in 6 Glasses tells the story of humanity from the Stone Age to the 21st century through the lens of beer, wine, spirits, coffee, tea, and cola. Beer was first made in the Fertile Crescent and by 3000 B.C.E.

Quarter-Life Crisis: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Location: Café 153
Date: Monday, April 8, 2013 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

This splendid collection of mysteries carries readers back to a gas-lit era, when literature's greatest detective team lived on Baker Street. A dozen of Holmes and Watson's best-known cases include "The Speckled Band," "The Red-Headed League," The Five Orange Pips," "The Copper Beeches," and "A Scandal in Bohemia."

Quarter-Life Crisis: Ready Player One

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, March 11, 2013 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

At once wildly original and stuffed with irresistible nostalgia, READY PLAYER ONE is a spectacularly genre-busting, ambitious, and charming debut--part quest novel, part love story, and part virtual space opera set in a universe where spell-slinging mages battle giant Japanese robots, entire planets are inspired by Blade Runner , and flying DeLoreans achieve light speed. It's the year 2044, and the real world is an ugly place.

Quarter-Life Crisis: Let's Pretend This Never Happened

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, February 11, 2013 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris--Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut. Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives--the ones we'd like to pretend never happened--are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 N ew York Times bestseller, Let's Pretend This Never Happened , Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor.

Quarter-Life Crisis: Great House

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, January 14, 2013 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

For twenty-five years, a reclusive American novelist has been writing at the desk she inherited from a young Chilean poet who disappeared at the hands of Pinochet's secret police; one day a girl claiming to be the poet's daughter arrives to take it away, sending the writer's life reeling. Across the ocean, in the leafy suburbs of London, a man caring for his dying wife discovers, among her papers, a lock of hair that unravels a terrible secret. In Jerusalem, an antiques dealer slowly reassembles his father's study, plundered by the Nazis in Budapest in 1944.

Quarter-Life Crisis: The Shadow of the Wind

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, December 10, 2012 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

A boy named Daniel selects a novel from a library of rare books, enjoying it so much that he searches for the rest of the author's works, only to discover that someone is destroying every book the author has ever written.

Quarter-Life Crisis: Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, November 12, 2012 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Featuring David Sedaris's unique blend of hilarity and heart, this new collection of keen-eyed animal-themed tales is an utter delight. Though the characters may not be human, the situations in these stories bear an uncanny resemblance to the insanity of everyday life. In "The Toad, the Turtle, and the Duck," three strangers commiserate about animal bureaucracy while waiting in a complaint line. In "Hello Kitty," a cynical feline struggles to sit through his prison-mandated AA meetings.

Quarter-Life Crisis: The Night Circus

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, October 8, 2012 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Cirque des Rêves and it is only open at night. But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway - a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors.

Quarter-Life Crisis: In a Strange Room

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, September 10, 2012 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

In this newest novel from South African writer Damon Galgut, a young loner travels across eastern Africa, Europe, and India. Unsure what he's after, and reluctant to return home, he follows the paths of travelers he meets along the way. Treated as a lover, a follower, a guardian, each new encounter-with an enigmatic stranger, a group of careless backpackers, a woman on the verge-leads him closer to confronting his own identity.

Quarter-Life Crisis: Jane Eyre

Location: Madison Public Library
Date: Monday, August 13, 2012 - 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Jane Eyre ranks as one of the greatest and most perennially popular works of English fiction. Although the poor but plucky heroine is outwardly of plain appearance, she possesses an indomitable spirit, a sharp wit and great courage. She is forced to battle against the exigencies of a cruel guardian, a harsh employer and a rigid social order.

Syndicate content