Login to My Account

Showers Center Library

Windows 1

Date: 
Friday, July 23, 2010 - 9:30am to 12:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off
For classes only
Which class: 

 The first part of a two part beginner’s computer class on how to get around on the Windows XP operating system, clean up and defrag your hard drive, and other more advanced windows operations. Read more about Windows 1

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Access

Date: 
Friday, July 16, 2010 - 9:30am to 12:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off
For classes only
Which class: 

 A class on how to use the Microsoft Access 2003 database management software.  Read more about Access

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

S2S B2B: Chosen

Date: 
Saturday, August 21, 2010 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781416580508
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9781416580508/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Patricia Haley
Title: 
Chosen

The inspirational first novel from the #1 "Essence"-bestselling author's series based on the popular biblical kings David and Solomon. After Dave Mitchell abandons his wife and business partner Madeline and their four children for a younger woman, the battle between his two families begins. Read more about S2S B2B: Chosen

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

S2S B2B: Big Girls Do Cry

Date: 
Saturday, July 17, 2010 - 3:00pm to 5:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780758231819
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9780758231819/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Carl Weber
Title: 
Big Girls Do Cry

In his "New York Times"-bestselling novel "Something on the Side," Weber introduced readers to the Big Girls Book Club. In this fast-paced follow-up, the BGBC has a new chapter, but the biggest drama isn't between the pages, it's among the members themselves. Read more about S2S B2B: Big Girls Do Cry

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Unlocking DNA With Hudson Alpha

Date: 
Tuesday, June 29, 2010 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Hudson Alpha Institute of Biotechnology is a pioneer in the field of Genetic Research. Watch as their Education Outreach team visits your local library and teaches you how to extract DNA from organic materials, using the same technology they use in their labs. Read more about Unlocking DNA With Hudson Alpha

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Shahala Belly Dancing

Date: 
Tuesday, July 13, 2010 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Learn basic Middle Eastern dance moves and rhythms- also known as belly dancing- from "Shahala" Liz Butler, instructor at Huntsville Studio Nomadic Tapestry. This activity is appropriate for children in grades 6-12. Read more about Shahala Belly Dancing

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Catching Air With Insanity Skate Park

Date: 
Sunday, June 20, 2010 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Check out some 'sick' new moves at your local library. Skateboarders from the Madison County area will be on site to give demos & answer questions. This event is appropriate for those in grades 6-12. Read more about Catching Air With Insanity Skate Park

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Food For Fines

Date: 
Repeats every day until Mon Jun 07 2010 .
Tuesday, June 1, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Wednesday, June 2, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, June 3, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Friday, June 4, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Saturday, June 5, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Sunday, June 6, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Monday, June 7, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Tuesday, June 1 through Monday, June 7: All HMCPL branches will offer Food for Fines. 

For each non-perishable food item a patron brings in, the library will forgive $1 in overdue fines from their library card. The donated canned and boxed goods will benefit those in need of service through the CANS (Caring and Nurturing Support) Food Drive, sponsored by Leadership Huntsville/Madison County Alumni.The library will only accept new, unopened cans and boxes of food within the expiration date, and charges for lost or damaged items cannot be waived.
  Read more about Food For Fines

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Preschool Storytime

Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Jul 22 2010 .
Thursday, June 3, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, June 10, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, June 17, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, June 24, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, July 1, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, July 8, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, July 15, 2010 - 9:30am
Thursday, July 22, 2010 - 9:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

This storytime is appropriate for children from the ages of 3-5 years. Read more about Preschool Storytime

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Food For Fines

Date: 
Repeats every day until Sat May 15 2010 .
Saturday, May 1, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Sunday, May 2, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Monday, May 3, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Tuesday, May 4, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Wednesday, May 5, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, May 6, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Friday, May 7, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Saturday, May 8, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Sunday, May 9, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Monday, May 10, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Tuesday, May 11, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Wednesday, May 12, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, May 13, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Friday, May 14, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Saturday, May 15, 2010 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Saturday, May 1 through Saturday, May 15: All HMCPL branches will offer Food for Fines. 

For each non-perishable food item a patron brings in, the library will forgive $1 in overdue fines from their library card. The donated canned and boxed goods will benefit those in need of service through the CANS (Caring and Nurturing Support) Food Drive, sponsored by Leadership Huntsville/Madison County Alumni.The library will only accept new, unopened cans and boxes of food within the expiration date, and charges for lost or damaged items cannot be waived.
  Read more about Food For Fines

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages