Login to My Account

Youth Services

After walking through the external doors, you will pass through a second set of internal doors. Youth Services is located on the right, with a desk area labeled "Youth Services."

Learn more at <a href="/youthservices">hmcpl.org/youthservices</a>

Parachute Playtime

For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 
Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Trick-or-Treat the Library

Date: 
Friday, October 31, 2014 - 9:00am to 4:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Halloween is here again, which means it’s time to trick-or-treat your library! Visit all 3 floors for some tasty treats, and enjoy a scavenger hunt in Youth Services. Read more about Trick-or-Treat the Library

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Rockin' & Learnin' Kids' Club

Date: 
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 3:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Become an all-around awesome kid! Score some major experience points by digging into arts, crafts, origami, games, experiments, and more! Something new and cool each month. On Wednesday, Nov. 5th we will have a special guest: the therapy dogs from Therapy Partners, Inc. Read more about Rockin' & Learnin' Kids' Club

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Sugar Plum Fairy Tea

Date: 
Thursday, November 20, 2014 - 4:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

An elegant “tea” for your pint-sized ballet enthusiasts. Enjoy light refreshments as Miss Annie and Miss Melissa  provide a story time featuring ballet and fairy books. We will also have a special guest: the Sugar Plum Fairy! Please come dressed in your tutus and tiaras! Stick around for a craft and 6pm visit with Alabama Youth Ballet Theatre as they perform scenes from The Nutcracker and teach us about ballet. Read more about Sugar Plum Fairy Tea

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Wiggles & Walking

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday until Tue Dec 09 2014 except Tue Nov 11 2014, Tue Nov 25 2014, Tue Dec 16 2014, Tue Dec 23 2014, Tue Dec 30 2014.
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, October 14, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, October 21, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, October 28, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, November 4, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 10:30am
Tuesday, December 9, 2014 - 10:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

A fun, active storytime for babies who have begun walking and their caregivers. We'll read - and sing - short books, share rhymes and songs, and play with the parachute! Stick around after storytime to play with toys from our special toy box. Read more about Wiggles & Walking

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Wizard Rock Show featuring Tonks & The Aurors and Justin Finch-Fletchley

Date: 
Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 6:00pm to 9:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Ready to rock Hogwarts-style? Nationally-known Wizard Rock bands Tonks & The Aurors and Justin Finch-Fletchley will play their Potter-inspired ballads to the literary masses. Food trucks will be onsite to fuel the epic rock frenzy! Party at the library! Read more about Wizard Rock Show featuring Tonks & The Aurors and Justin Finch-Fletchley

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Parachute Playtime

Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Jul 24 2014 .
Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, July 3, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, July 10, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

It's time to bring out the BIG parachute for an interactive parachute play session. Songs, rhymes, and games with the chute! 18 months - 5 years.
  Read more about Parachute Playtime

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Make & Take Craft Day

Date: 
Repeats every week until Thu Jul 24 2014 .
Thursday, June 5, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, June 12, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, June 26, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, July 3, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, July 10, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Thursday, July 24, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Each Thursday during Summer Reading is craft time! Come make our weekly craft anytime during library hours. All crafting supplies provided - get creative! Read more about Make & Take Craft Day

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Music & Rhyme Time

Date: 
Repeats every week until Wed Jul 23 2014 .
Wednesday, June 4, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, June 11, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, June 25, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, July 2, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, July 9, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, July 23, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Research has shown early music experiences can have a significant impact on literacy, language, social, and math skills later in life. Join us as we experience sing alongs, musical instrument activities, rhythm & movement, and of course a musical story! Read more about Music & Rhyme Time

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Wiggles & Walking

Date: 
Repeats every week until Tue Jul 22 2014 .
Tuesday, June 3, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, June 10, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, June 17, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, June 24, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, July 1, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, July 8, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, July 15, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

A fun, active storytime for babies who have begun walking and their caregivers. We'll read - and sing - short books, share rhymes and songs, and play with the parachute! Stick around after storytime to play with toys from our special toy box. Read more about Wiggles & Walking

Age: 
Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages