Login to My Account

Youth Services

After walking through the external doors, you will pass through a second set of internal doors. Youth Services is located on the right, with a desk area labeled "Youth Services."

Learn more at <a href="/youthservices">hmcpl.org/youthservices</a>

Wiggles & Walking

Date: 
Repeats every week until Tue May 13 2014 .
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, March 25, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 1, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

A fun, active storytime for babies who have begun walking and their caregivers. We'll read - and sing - short books, share rhymes and songs, and play with the parachute! Stick around after storytime to play with toys from our special toy box. Read more about Wiggles & Walking

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Music & Rhyme Storytime

Date: 
Repeats every week until Wed May 14 2014 .
Wednesday, January 8, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, January 15, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, January 22, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, January 29, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 5, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 12, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 19, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, February 26, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, March 5, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, March 26, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, April 9, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, April 16, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, April 23, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, April 30, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Research has shown early music experiences can have a significant impact on literacy, language, social, and math skills later in life. Join us as we experience sing alongs, musical instrument activities, rhythm & movement, and of course a musical story! Read more about Music & Rhyme Storytime

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Rockin' Storytime

Date: 
Repeats every week until Tue May 13 2014 .
Tuesday, January 7, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, January 14, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, January 21, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, January 28, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, February 4, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, February 18, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, February 25, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, March 25, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, April 1, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, April 15, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, April 22, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, April 29, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, May 6, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 9:15am to 10:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

You never knew storytime could be this awesome! Join us weekly on Mondays and Tuesdays at 9:15am as Miss Melissa rocks your storytime with cool books, kickin' kids songs, rad rhymes, and puppets, too! We'll wrap it all up with a themed craft. All ages are welcome. Read more about Rockin' Storytime

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Tremendous Toddlers

Date: 
Repeats every week until Mon May 12 2014 except Mon Jan 20 2014, Mon Feb 17 2014, Mon Mar 10 2014, Mon Mar 17 2014, Mon Apr 07 2014.
Monday, January 6, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, January 13, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, January 27, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, February 3, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, February 10, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, February 24, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, March 3, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, March 24, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, March 31, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, April 14, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, April 21, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, April 28, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, May 5, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Monday, May 12, 2014 - 10:30am to 11:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Join us for Toddler Storytime! Each week we will explore 2-3 age appropriate books, fingerplays, and songs. These activities will help increase your two to three year old’s language skills and prepare them for preschool Storytime. The storytime will finish up with an easy to do craft, designed to strengthen motor skills. Read more about Tremendous Toddlers

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Mo Willems Day!

Date: 
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 - 9:00am to 9:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

February 11th is the birthday of one of our very favorite children’s book authors, Mo Willems, creator of Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, the Elephant and Piggy series and Knuffle Bunny! To celebrate Mo’s birthday, we’ll read his books at our 9:15am and 10:30am storytimes and offer Mo-themed crafts and games all day. To make the party last a little longer, Youth Services will have a Mo Willems craft to make in our department all month, so stop by, make a craft, and by participating you may win a cool prize! Read more about Mo Willems Day!

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Little Gym at the Library!

Date: 
Friday, February 7, 2014 - 1:30pm to 2:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Tired of winter leaving you and your energetic little ones stuck inside? It’s time to get moving with our friends from Little Gym! Join us for an afternoon wiggling, jumping, and other children's physical activities. Read more about Little Gym at the Library!

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Christmas Tree Angel Storytime with Author Lisa Soland

Date: 
Friday, November 22, 2013 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

The holidays are here! Get into the spirit with a special storytime visit with author Lisa Soland. She will read from her children's book The Christmas Tree Angel. Books will be available for purchase after the event. Read more about Christmas Tree Angel Storytime with Author Lisa Soland

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Alabama Youth Ballet Theater Presents Scenes from the Nutcracker

Date: 
Thursday, November 7, 2013 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Ballerinas, beautiful costumes, dancing and music! Join us for an exciting presentation of scenes from The Nutcracker by our friends at Alabama Youth Ballet Theater. Read more about Alabama Youth Ballet Theater Presents Scenes from the Nutcracker

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Gingerbread Zombie Apocalypse!!

Date: 
Thursday, December 19, 2013 - 5:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

Gingerbread Zombie Apocalypse!!  Decorate gingerbread zombies because nothing says holiday cheer like zombies! Read more about Gingerbread Zombie Apocalypse!!

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

It Came From A Book! Teen DIY Night

Date: 
Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 5:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
Location: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

It Came From a Book! Teen DIY Night.  Make two holiday ornaments made from recycled books. Read more about It Came From A Book! Teen DIY Night

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages