Login to My Account

Madison Public Library

Teen Toss Up - Divergent Party!

Date: 
Tuesday, February 24, 2015 - 6:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Get together to discuss the good, the bad and the ugly of the popular Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth. We'll play games, eat snacks and even make crafts inspired by the books/films.

Contact mallen@hmcpl.org for more info! Read more about Teen Toss Up - Divergent Party!

Event type: 
Age: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Literary Giants: The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin

Date: 
Monday, March 30, 2015 - 6:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
0486290735
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=0486290735
Book Club: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Benjamin Franklin
Title: 
The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin

Blessed with enormous talents and the energy and ambition to go with them, Franklin was a statesman, author, inventor, printer, and scientist. He helped draft the Declaration of Independence and later was involved in negotiating the peace treaty with Britain that ended the Revolutionary War. He also invented bifocals, a stove that is still manufactured, a water-harmonica, and the lightning rod.
Franklin's extraordinary range of interests and accomplishments are brilliantly recorded in his Autobiography, considered one of the classics of the genre. Covering his life up to his prewar stay in London as representative of the Pennsylvania Assembly, this charming self-portrait recalls Franklin's boyhood, his determination to achieve high moral standards, his work as a printer, experiments with electricity, political career, experiences during the French and Indian War, and more. Related in an honest, open, unaffected style, this highly readable account offers a wonderfully intimate glimpse of the Founding Father sometimes called "the wisest American." Read more about Literary Giants: The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin

Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Literary Giants: Animal Farm

Date: 
Monday, February 23, 2015 - 6:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
1595404295
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=1595404295
Book Club: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
George Orwell
Title: 
Animal Farm

As ferociously fresh as it was more than a half century ago, this remarkable allegory of a downtrodden society of overworked, mistreated animals and their quest to create a paradise of progress, justice, and equality is one of the most scathing satires ever published. As readers witness the rise and bloody fall of the revolutionary animals, they begin to recognize the seeds of totalitarianism in the most idealistic organization—and in the most charismatic leaders, the souls of the cruelest oppressors. Read more about Literary Giants: Animal Farm

Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Literary Giants: The Confessions of St. Augustine

Date: 
Monday, January 26, 2015 - 6:30pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
0385029551
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=0385029551
Book Club: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
St. Augustine
Title: 
The Confessions of St. Augustine

Heartfelt, incisive, and timeless, The Confessions of Saint Augustine has captivated readers for more than fifteen hundred years. Retelling the story of his long struggle with faith and ultimate conversion -- the first such spiritual memoir ever recorded -- Saint Augustine traces a story of sin, regret, and redemption that is both deeply personal and, at the same time, universal. Read more about Literary Giants: The Confessions of St. Augustine

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Next Chapter Book Club (Madison)

Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday 30 times .
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, February 4, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, April 1, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, April 8, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 - 9:00am
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 - 9:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Next Chapter Book Club is a book club for adolescents and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). Anyone can participate in NCBC, whatever their reading level or ability level.  For more information, please contact Teresa at tallison@hmcpl.org. Read more about Next Chapter Book Club (Madison)

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Next Chapter Book Club (Madison)

Date: 
Repeats every week every Tuesday 30 times .
Tuesday, January 20, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, January 27, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, February 10, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, February 24, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, March 3, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, March 10, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, March 17, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, March 31, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, April 7, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, April 21, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, April 28, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 5, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 12, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 19, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, May 26, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, June 2, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, June 9, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, June 16, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, June 23, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, July 7, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, July 14, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, July 21, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, July 28, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, August 4, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, August 11, 2015 - 6:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Next Chapter Book Club (NCBC) is a book club for adolescents and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). Anyone can participate, whatever their reading or ability level. For more information please contact Teresa at tallison@hmcpl.org. Read more about Next Chapter Book Club (Madison)

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Arm Knitting (Madison)

Date: 
Friday, March 27, 2015 - 10:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
Special event, do not index
Author: 
Title: 

Join instructor, Crystal Kitchens, to learn to knit a scarf with your arms. Don't bring your knitting needles! Learn how to cast on, how to make the knit stitch, and how to cast off. Bring one skein of extra bulky (code 6) yarn ("Homespun Thick and Quick" is one brand) or two skeins of bulky (code 5) yarn. No knitting experience is required. To register please contact Teresa at tallison@hmcpl.org or call 256-461-0046. There is no fee for this workshop. This workshop is open to adults and youth ages 14 and up. Read more about Arm Knitting (Madison)

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Learn to Weave a Basket with a "D" Handle (Madison)

Date: 
Friday, February 27, 2015 - 9:00am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
Special event, do not index

Join instructor, Crystal Kitchens. on Feb. 27 at the Madison Library from 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.  In this workshop, you'll make a basket with flat reed and a "D" handle. You'll learn how to handle basket reed, how to start a basket with a handle, and how to shape a basket. The finished baskets will have a 6-inch x 8-inch base. No basket making experience required. Basket making is wet work, so wear old clothes and bring a towel. The leader will bring all the tools and other supplies you'll need to use during the workshop. Please bring a sack lunch.

Registration is required. To register please contact Teresa at tallison@hmcpl.org or call 256-461-0046. There is a supply fee of $14. Please have your payment to the Madison library by Feb.6. Make checks payable to instructor, Crystal Kitchens.

 

 

  Read more about Learn to Weave a Basket with a "D" Handle (Madison)

Event categories: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Downton Abbey Fan Club

Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday until Sat Feb 28 2015 except Mon Jan 19 2015, Mon Feb 16 2015. Also includes Tue Jan 20 2015, Tue Feb 17 2015.
Monday, January 5, 2015 - 6:30pm
Monday, January 12, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, January 20, 2015 - 6:30pm
Monday, January 26, 2015 - 6:30pm
Monday, February 2, 2015 - 6:30pm
Monday, February 9, 2015 - 6:30pm
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 - 6:30pm
Monday, February 23, 2015 - 6:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

The Anglo Files present: Downton Abbey Fan Club! Join us every Monday to discuss the latest Downton Abbey episode. Snacks and tea will be provided. Read more about Downton Abbey Fan Club

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Origami Yoda ORIGAMI DAY

Date: 
Thursday, January 29, 2015 - 4:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
off

 Love Origami Yoda? Or just love origami? Come and create your own origami creations to carry with you or share the “wisdom” with friends.

  Read more about Origami Yoda ORIGAMI DAY

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages