Login to My Account

Eleanor Murphy Branch meeting room

Fall Book Sale - Eleanor Murphy Friends of the Library

Date: 
Friday, October 31, 2014 - 9:00am to Monday, November 3, 2014 - 7:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

At our fall book sale, everything is just .10, .25, or $1 with great deals on books, DVDs, magazines, and CDs. The sale is Friday October 31, Saturday November 1, and Monday November 3 (the Murphy branch is closed on Sunday the 2nd).

· Mass market paperbacks—.10

· Magazines—.10

· VHS tapes– .10

· Children's books– .25

·  CDs—.25

· Red-tape books—.25

· DVDs—$1

· All other books—$1

  Read more about Fall Book Sale - Eleanor Murphy Friends of the Library

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Drop-In & Download at Eleanor Murphy

Date: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday 60 times .
Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 5, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 12, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 26, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 10, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 17, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 24, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 31, 2014 - 10:30am
Wednesday, January 7, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, January 14, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, February 4, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, February 18, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, February 25, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, March 11, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, April 1, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, April 8, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, April 22, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, May 6, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, May 13, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, May 20, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, May 27, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, June 3, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, June 10, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, June 17, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, June 24, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, July 1, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, July 8, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, July 22, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, August 5, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, August 12, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, August 19, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, August 26, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 9, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 16, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 23, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, September 30, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, October 7, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, October 14, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, October 21, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 4, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 11, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 18, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 2, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 9, 2015 - 10:30am
Wednesday, December 16, 2015 - 10:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 
  • Bring your Kindle, iPad, e-reader, or other device
  • Get hands-on instruction on how to download ebooks, audiobooks, music, and movies from hmcpl.org
  • Every Wednesday from 10:30-12:30 at Eleanor Murphy

***We will not meet on November 26, 2014*** Read more about Drop-In & Download at Eleanor Murphy

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Eleanor Murphy Book Club

Date: 
Tuesday, February 3, 2015 - 11:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780316033046
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=9780316033046
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Mark Childress
Title: 
Georgia Bottoms

We will read Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress Read more about Eleanor Murphy Book Club

Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Eleanor Murphy Book Club

Date: 
Tuesday, January 6, 2015 - 11:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780399159343
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=9780399159343
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Liane Moriarty
Title: 
The Husband's Secret
Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Eleanor Murphy Book Club: The Astronaut Wives Club

Date: 
Tuesday, December 2, 2014 - 11:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781455503254
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=9781455503254
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Lily Koppel
Title: 
The Astronaut Wives Club
Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

DIY Thursday: Weave a Scarf on Soda Straws

Date: 
Thursday, November 6, 2014 - 10:00am to 12:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
Special event, do not index
Author: 
Title: 

Weave a Scarf on Soda Straws

Maximum number of (adult and youth ages 14 and up) students:  20.

Leader:  Crystal Kitchens, member of Huntsville Fiber Guild.

You don’t have to weave on a traditional loom.  Learn how to weave a scarf on soda straws.  You will start the scarf in class and learn how to make pom poms to add to the ends when you finish it at home.  No weaving experience is required.

Bring 4 ounces of worsted weight yarn.  Bring more than one color for a striped scarf.  If you want to use a thinner yarn, you’ll need more than 4 ounces.

The leader will bring all the tools and other supplies you’ll need to use during the workshop.

This workshop is provided by the Huntsville Fiber Guild.

For more information, call Annie Phillips at 881-5620.

http://hmcpl.org/adultcrafts#murphy Read more about DIY Thursday: Weave a Scarf on Soda Straws

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Murphy Writers Group - NaNoWriMo Weekly Write-In

Date: 
Repeats every week every Saturday until Sat Nov 29 2014 .
Saturday, November 1, 2014 - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 8, 2014 - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 15, 2014 - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 22, 2014 - 3:00pm
Saturday, November 29, 2014 - 3:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
Do not index: 
Special event, do not index

Reach your National Novel Writing Month goals with the Murphy Writers Group! The MWG normally meets the 2nd and 4th Saturday of each month at 3pm in the Eleanor Murphy Branch Meeting room. For NaNoWriMo we will meet each Saturday to write in solidarity!

***Due to the Murphy Friends of the Library book sale, the Nov. 1 meeting will take place at Angel's Island Coffee - 7538 Memorial Parkway SW***

Please call or e-mail Annie Phillips for more information. 256-881-5620 or aphillips@hmcpl.org Read more about Murphy Writers Group - NaNoWriMo Weekly Write-In

Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Eleanor Murphy Book Club: The Professor

Date: 
Tuesday, November 4, 2014 - 11:30am
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781909223585
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=9781909223585
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Robert Bailey
Title: 
The Professor
Age: 
Event type: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Nutcracker Preview

Date: 
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 4:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

The Alabama Youth Ballet presents a special preview of their Holiday ballet, "The Nutcracker." Children of all ages are welcome to come learn about ballet and this classic story.
  Read more about Nutcracker Preview

Event type: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Holiday Party

Date: 
Monday, December 1, 2014 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Who to contact
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
Jacket image: 
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Title: 

Help us deck our halls at our Holiday Party. We'll have refreshements, make ornaments, and trim the library tree. Enjoy the whole party or drop-in as you can. Read more about Holiday Party

Event type: 
Age: 
Event categories: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages