Login to My Account

Madison Murder Mystery Ink

Madison Murder, Ink: Devil in the White City

Date: 
Thursday, April 10, 2014 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780375725609
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9780375725609/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Erik Larson
Title: 
Devil in the White City

~~An account of the Chicago World's Fair of 1893 relates the stories of two men who shaped the history of the event--architect Daniel H. Burnham, who coordinated its construction, and serial killer Herman Mudgett.
  Read more about Madison Murder, Ink: Devil in the White City

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink: Penance

Date: 
Thursday, March 13, 2014 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781909223134
Jacket image: 
http://contentcafe2.btol.com/ContentCafe/Jacket.aspx?UserID=HMCPL15871&Password=CC59977&Options=Y&Return=T&Type=S&Value=9781909223134
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Dan O'Shea
Title: 
Penance

~~"Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too. A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot through the heart by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot. Colonel Tech Weaver dispatches a team from Langley to put the shooter - and anyone else who gets in the way - in a body bag before a half-century of national secrets are revealed. But soon the sniper strikes again. And Detective Lynch, the son of a murdered Chicago cop, finds himself cast into an underworld of political corruption, as he tries to discover the truth about what's really going - before another innocent citizen gets killed Read more about Madison Murder, Ink: Penance

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink.: Penance

Date: 
Thursday, February 13, 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781909223134
Jacket image: 
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/511P4HbtdxL._SX150_OU01_.jpg
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Dan O'Shea
Title: 
Penance

Born and raised in Chicago, Detective John Lynch might just be about to die there too. A pious old woman steps out of the Sacred Heart confessional and is shot through the heart by a sniper with what at first appears to be a miraculous and impossible shot. Colonel Tech Weaver dispatches a team from Langley to put the shooter - and anyone else who gets in the way - in a body bag before a half-century of national secrets are revealed. But soon the sniper strikes again. And Detective Lynch, the son of a murdered Chicago cop, finds himself cast into an underworld of political corruption, as he tries to discover the truth about what's really going - before another innocent citizen gets killed Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: Penance

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink.: The Rage

Date: 
Thursday, January 9, 2014 - 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781609450922
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9781609450922/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Gene Kerrigan
Title: 
The Rage

~~Just released from jail, a thief is planning for an armored car robbery. An honest policeman, discouraged by his crooked colleagues, is investigating the murder of a banker. A call from an old acquaintance will change his course of investigation. Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: The Rage

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink.: Blood Money

Date: 
Thursday, August 8, 2013 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780679453048
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9780679453048/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Thomas Perry
Title: 
Blood Money

" I'm not a believer in last stands. I'm a believer in running." But Jane Whitefield, a professional "guide" who helps people in trouble disapper, hopes she's through running. Married to a surgeon and living quietly in upstate New York, Jane wants to set down roots of her own rather than helping others uproot themselves from endangered lives. A good plan--until a girl in trouble knocks on the door and mentions the name of a mafioso with whom Jane has a past. All of Perry's Whitefield novels are plot-rich adventures in which the external world hides threats both seen and unseen, making details matter even more than they do in daily life. This time the idea of outthinking the opposition, or at least thinking first, is even more at the center of things than usual, since one of the two people Jane strives to disappear is Bernie the Elephant, the Mob's one-man money launderer who cleanses warring families' cash but never writes anything down--the location of the loot is all in his memory, much as Jane's success as a guide is contingent on the details in her head. Hatching a plan to give the Mob's money to charity, Jane and Bernie quickly learn that making money disappear is every bit as tricky as making people disappear. What makes this series so consistently engaging is not only Perry's ability to cleverly untie the Gordian knot of his plots but also to draw us closer and closer to his people. Details make a successful thriller, but they can also overwhelm the inferior one. Perry mixes plot and character with great delicacy, producing a superbly emulsified whole. Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: Blood Money

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Local author visits Madison Murder, Ink.

Madison novelist Michael Guillebeau, author of Josh Whoever, will discuss and sign copies of his work on Thursday, May 9, at 6:30 p.m. Read more about Local author visits Madison Murder, Ink.

Madison Murder, Ink.: Joyland

Date: 
Thursday, July 11, 2013 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781781162644
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9781781162644/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
King, Stephen
Title: 
Joyland

A STUNNING NEW NOVEL FROM ONE OF THE BEST-SELLING AUTHORS OF ALL TIME! Set in a small-town North Carolina amusement park in 1973, Joyland tells the story of the summer in which college student Devin Jones comes to work as a carny and confronts the legacy of a vicious murder, the fate of a dying child, and the ways both will change his life forever. "I love crime, I love mysteries, and I love ghosts. That combo made Hard Case Crime the perfect venue for this book, which is one of my favorites. I also loved the paperbacks I grew up with as a kid, and for that reason, we're going to hold off on e-publishing this one for the time being. Joyland will be coming out in paperback, and folks who want to read it will have to buy the actual book." -- Stephen King Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: Joyland

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink.: Blue Monday

Date: 
Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780143122722
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9780143122722/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
French, Nicci
Title: 
Blue Monday

Immensely intelligent and poignantly human, Frieda Klein has captivated book critics and crime readers everywhere with her debut outing as Blue Monday 's iconoclastic heroine. A psychotherapist and insomniac who spends her nights walking along the ancient rivers that lie beneath modern London, Frieda stars in a dazzling new crime series in which the terrors of the mind spill over into real life. When five-year-old Matthew Farraday is abducted, Frieda cannot ignore the fact that his photograph perfectly matches the boy one of her patients describes from his fantasies. Before long, Frieda finds herself serving as the reluctant sidekick of Detective Chief Inspector Karlsson at the center of a desperate race to find the kidnapper. Blue Monday is an atmospheric, stunning first novel in a crime series for fans of In Treatment and The Killing . Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: Blue Monday

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink.: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Date: 
Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9780486474915
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9780486474915/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Doyle, Arthur Conan
Title: 
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

This splendid collection of mysteries carries readers back to a gas-lit era, when literature's greatest detective team lived on Baker Street. A dozen of Holmes and Watson's best-known cases include "The Speckled Band," "The Red-Headed League," The Five Orange Pips," "The Copper Beeches," and "A Scandal in Bohemia." Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Madison Murder, Ink.: Josh Whoever

Date: 
Thursday, May 9, 2013 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm
Who to contact
Contact name: 
For book clubs only
ISBN: 
9781432826840
Jacket image: 
http://content.sirsi.com/uhtbin/getenrich/9781432826840/COVER_GIF
Do not index: 
off
Author: 
Guillebeau, Michael
Title: 
Josh Whoever

Josh was an army veteran, but a maneuver-turned-massacre cover-up threw him into a hero's harsh spotlight. After walking away from it all, Josh, who's been pulling scams for a living, takes refuge in the bottle and tries to stay invisible. But his latest con puts him in the sights of a Russian mob family convinced that he is a private detective-and the only one who can find missing reality star Kiev Romanov. As Josh digs at this mystery, he is joined by unemployed newspaper editor Marci, who's hoping to use this scoop to relaunch her writing career, and Kiev's killer brother, Yuri, who believes he is Batman. In pursuit of the heiress, Josh uses his con man skills and tangles with Confederate zealots and a paramilitary group. He knows if he does not save the girl, he can kiss his last drink goodbye-along with his life. Read more about Madison Murder, Ink.: Josh Whoever

Event type: 
Age: 
Staff Use Only: 
off

Pages